Shopify Fall '26 Edition: what's live, what's coming, and the dates that matter
Shopify put the Fall '26 Edition live on October 28, 2026: 150+ updates. This page tracks what is live, what is still coming, and which dates are real deadlines. Where Shopify has not said, the row says not stated.

Most of Shopify's Fall '26 Edition can wait. These five can't.
The lead article: five things that cannot wait, then the dates.
What's live
Last checked .
WebMCP
- Status:
- rolling out
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
Storefront tools can search, use the cart, and move into checkout. Shopify says the tools are live, and that agent support is limited to Chromium-based browsers. It has been rolling out since August.
Shop Pay in personal AI agents
- Status:
- live
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
Shop Pay works in four agents: Muse from Meta, Claude Duet, Grok Bot, and Instinct. Claude Duet, Grok Bot, and Instinct also offer Shop Pay for brands not on Shopify. You do not activate Shop Pay separately for these agents.
Amex in those agents
- Status:
- coming
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
Shopify says American Express is coming soon for agent purchases from merchants off Shopify. It is not available yet.
Agent knowledge base
- Status:
- live
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
Built into the admin. It holds up to 1,000 additional facts. Admin-published facts can go out; facts Shopify drafts from the storefront stay unpublished until you publish them.
Shopify Protect
- Status:
- live
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- Shopify Payments
Shopify says Protect is on for businesses on Shopify Payments, with no install and no fee for eligible Shop Pay chargeback cover.
Rule Builder
- Status:
- live
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- Free to install, then $0.07 USD per screened transaction
A separate Shopify app you install. It is not turned on for you. Rules can block a payment, request 3D Secure, or hold an order, and you can preview them against the last 90 days first.
Shop Promise
- Status:
- rolling out
- United States:
- domestic orders only
- Canada:
- not described
- Plan:
- An active Shopify plan, a US location that fulfills US orders, and Shop Pay
The updated program is rolling out and drops the $5 late credit. Older orders can still be claimed until December 16, 2026.
Seven new local payment methods
- Status:
- live
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
The edition includes seven new local payment methods. Which ones, and whether Canada is included, is not in the announcement.
Hydrogen
- Status:
- live
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
Generally available October 14, 2026, before this edition.
Canvas
- Status:
- coming
- United States:
- not stated
- Canada:
- not stated
- Plan:
- not stated
Early access. Not a general release.
Dates that matter
Each date is labeled with where it comes from. Black Friday is the calendar. The others are Shopify's.
· Global Catalog REST API stops
The deprecated Global Catalog REST API stops serving traffic. Only matters if an app still calls it.
· Black Friday
The calendar date for Black Friday 2026. Not a Shopify product launch.
Calendar
· Old Shop Promise claims end
Last day a customer can claim the previous $5 Shop Cash credit on an order placed before the store moved to the updated Shop Promise program.
· Expiring offline tokens
Public apps still using non-expiring offline tokens are delisted and blocked from new installs. Existing installs can keep calling the affected APIs until April 1, 2027.
· Admin warning, and the old knowledge base app ends
Merchants using a public app that missed the token migration see a warning in the admin. The same day, the standalone Knowledge Base app is no longer available. Stores with more than 1,000 facts in that app need to add the ones they want before then.
Shopify developer changelog, October 27, 2026, and the Shopify changelog, October 26, 2026
Official pages
Related on Signal
- Shop Pay in AI agents: what Shopify merchants should do
The October Shop Pay launch, including Claude Duet.
- Shopify app security: what merchants should check
The October 15 security check, without naming apps.
- Five changes for Shopify merchants this week
The October 27 letter: security, Shop Pay, and the holiday setup.
- BFCM 2026: the Shopify changes to act on in the final month
Rollouts, shipping, link warnings, and UK VAT before November 27.
- We read 150+ Shopify updates. Here's what actually matters
How we read the Spring Editions launch.